What sex life?

For couples who are trying to conceive, sex can become a mechanical process. One of the challenges couples face is the loss of spontaneity and romance when it comes to having sex while they are trying to have a baby. Fertility treatment can also change a couple's sex life.

When trying to have a baby, sex becomes a task necessary for conception. This "conception sex" can involve scheduled sex and specific sexual positions that are believed to improve the chances of getting pregnant. For many couples, these factors can make sex feel like a chore.

A couple who has been trying to conceive for some time may forget that sex can be intimate and that there is a difference between sex for pleasure and sex for conception. Couples need to recognize that the ability to conceive does not define their sexuality.

Feelings of intimacy and privacy can be lost once a couple undergoes fertility treatment. These issues often come up when discussing personal details of their sex life with their doctor, or when undergoing tests such as a semen analysis (to measure sperm counts) or the post-coital test (to assess the interaction between the sperm and the cervical mucus). Keeping a sense of humour can go a long way to help ease the frustrations and challenges you may be going through.

For others, it can be hard to keep the romance alive if they’re going through in-vitro fertilization (IVF) or intrauterine insemination (IUI). Couples that go through these treatments are advised not to have sex at certain points during the treatment cycle. However, it is completely safe to have sex outside of these moments in the treatment cycle, and sometimes it may even be recommended. This is why it is important to seek professional guidance and also feel comfortable talking about such topics.

A couple's sex life doesn't have to suffer and become unromantic when they are trying to conceive. Communicate with your partner about your sexual desires and needs. Continue having spontaneous sex during the rest of the month, as if you weren't trying to have sex to conceive a baby. Couples who communicate and stay physically and emotionally connected can continue to have a healthy sex life.

All material copyright MediResource Inc. 1996 – 2021. Terms and conditions of use. The contents herein are for informational purposes only. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Source: www.medbroadcast.com/healthfeature/gethealthfeature/Fertility-and-Your-Sex-Life

Une vie sexuelle, quelle vie sexuelle ?

Les relations sexuelles peuvent devenir un processus mécanique pour les couples qui essaient de concevoir. La perte de spontanéité représente l'un des défis auxquels les couples ont à faire face lorsqu'il est question d'avoir des relations sexuelles pendant qu'ils essaient d'avoir un bébé. Les traitements de fertilité peuvent également changer la vie sexuelle d'un couple.

Lorsque vous essayez d'avoir un bébé, les relations sexuelles deviennent une tâche nécessaire à la conception. Cette « sexualité de la conception » peut nécessiter la programmation des relations sexuelles et l'utilisation de positions sexuelles précises dont on croit qu'elles améliorent les chances de conception. Pour plusieurs couples, ces facteurs peuvent rendre les relations sexuelles semblables à une tâche.

Un couple qui essaie de concevoir depuis quelque temps peut oublier que les relations sexuelles représentent des gestes d'intimité et qu'il existe une différence entre les relations sexuelles pour le plaisir et les relations sexuelles destinées à la conception. Les couples doivent reconnaître que la capacité de concevoir ne définit pas leur sexualité.

Lorsqu'un couple reçoit des traitements de fertilité, il est possible qu'il perdre ses sentiments d'intimité mutuelle. Ces questions sont souvent soulevées lorsqu'on discute de détails personnels de la vie sexuelle avec son médecin, ou lorsqu'on subit des analyses comme l'analyse du sperme (pour mesurer les décomptes de spermatozoïdes) ou le test postcoïtal (servant à évaluer l'interaction entre les spermatozoïdes et le mucus cervical). Il peut s'avérer particulièrement utile d'avoir un bon sens de l'humour pour réduire les frustrations et les difficultés auxquelles vous aurez à faire face.

Lorsqu'on essaie de concevoir, la vie sexuelle du couple ne doit pas nécessairement souffrir de la situation et perdre son caractère sentimental. Communiquez avec votre partenaire au sujet de vos désirs et de vos besoins sexuels. Continuez à avoir des relations sexuelles spontanées le reste du mois, comme si vous n'essayez pas d'avoir des relations sexuelles pour concevoir un bébé. Les couples qui communiquent entre eux sur le plan physique et émotionnel peuvent continuer à avoir une vie sexuelle normale.

Tous les contenus sont la propriété de MediResource Inc. 1996 – 2021. Conditions d’utilisation. Les contenus présents ne sont destinés qu’à des fins d’information. Demandez toujours l’avis de votre médecin ou d’un autre professionnel de la santé qualifié sur des questions relatives à une affection médicale. Source : santecheznous.com/healthfeature/gethealthfeature/La-fertilite-et-votre-vie-sexuelle